Skip to content

Fenretinide in Treating Patients With Solid Tumors

Phase I Evaluation of Fenretinide (NSC# 374551)

Status
Completed
Phases
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00003250
Enrollment
31
Registered
2004-05-21
Start date
1998-05-31
Completion date
2008-12-31
Last updated
2014-04-11

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Unspecified Adult Solid Tumor, Protocol Specific

Keywords

unspecified adult solid tumor, protocol specific

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of fenretinide in treating patients who have solid tumors.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the maximum tolerated dose and toxicity of oral fenretinide in patients with solid malignant tumors. II. Determine the pharmacokinetics of fenretinide and its metabolites. III. Determine the preliminary antitumor activity of fenretinide in this patient population. IV. Determine the recommended phase II starting dose of fenretinide. V. Determine whether fenretinide induces apoptosis in clinical specimens. OUTLINE: This is a dose escalation study. Patients receive oral fenretinide once daily on days 1, 8 and 9 and three times a day on days 2-7. Courses repeat every 3 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Treatment continues for up to 6 months following complete remission. Accessible tumors are biopsied on day 8. Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of fenretinide until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 6 patients experience dose limiting toxicity. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 21 patients will be accrued for this study within 6-9 months.

Interventions

DRUGfenretinide

Sponsors

National Cancer Institute (NCI)
CollaboratorNIH
Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute
Lead SponsorOTHER

Study design

Allocation
NA
Intervention model
SINGLE_GROUP
Primary purpose
TREATMENT
Masking
NONE

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
15 Years to No maximum
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven solid malignant tumors (carcinoma or sarcoma) Not eligible for any known treatment or regimen of higher potential efficacy No history of CNS tumors or prior CNS metastases PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 15 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: At least 12 weeks Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/mL SGOT/SGPT no greater than 2 times upper limit of normal Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/mL OR Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min Cardiovascular: At least 6 months since any acute myocardial infarction No congestive heart failure No New York Heart Association class III or IV heart disease No clinically significant cardiac arrhythmias Pulmonary: Not specified Other: Not pregnant or nursing Fertile patients must use effective contraception No gastrointestinal bleeding or bleeding tendency PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: At least 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy (at least 6 weeks since nitrosoureas or mitomycin) and recovered No concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: At least 4 weeks since prior radiotherapy and recovered No concurrent radiotherapy Surgery: Not specified Other: No prior systemic retinoid therapy

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frameDescription
Determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) and toxicities of 4-HPRper cycleWhen drug is administered orally three times daily for 21 doses, repeated every 21 days.

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
Characterize the pharmacokinetics of 4-HPR and its metabolite(s)Pre-treatment; Cycle 1 Days 1 & 8: 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24 hrs & day

Countries

United States

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026