Skip to content

RT or No RT Following Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Stage III/IV Hodgkin's Disease

Phase III Randomized Trial of Adjuvant Involved-Field Radiotherapy vs No Adjuvant Therapy Following Remission Induction With MOPP/ABV Hybrid Chemotherapy in Patients With Stage III/IV Hodgkin's Disease

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Source
ClinicalTrials.gov
Registry ID
NCT00002462
Enrollment
615
Registered
2004-07-26
Start date
1989-09-30
Completion date
Unknown
Last updated
2025-08-05

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Lymphoma

Keywords

stage III adult Hodgkin lymphoma, stage IV adult Hodgkin lymphoma

Brief summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy with combination chemotherapy may kill more tumor cells. PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of radiation therapy with no radiation therapy following chemotherapy in treating patients with stage III or stage IV Hodgkin's disease.

Detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare relapse-free survival and overall survival of patients with Stage III/IV Hodgkin's disease randomly assigned to adjuvant involved-field radiotherapy vs. no adjuvant therapy following remission induction with MOPP/ABV (nitrogen mustard/vincristine/procarbazine/prednisone/doxorubicin/bleomycin/vinblastine). II. Evaluate the therapeutic efficacy of MOPP/ABV hybrid chemotherapy in advanced Hodgkin's disease. III. Evaluate the prognostic significance of an early response to MOPP/ABV in patients with advanced Hodgkin's disease. OUTLINE: Study randomized for adjuvant radiotherapy. All patients receive Induction chemotherapy on Regimen A, following which those in CR are randomized on Arms I and II. Regimen A: 7-Drug Combination Chemotherapy. MOPP/ABV Hybrid. Mechlorethamine, NM, NSC-762; Vincristine, VCR, NSC-67574; Procarbazine, PCB, NSC-77213; Prednisone, PRED, NSC-10023; Doxorubicin, DOX, NSC-123127; Bleomycin, BLEO, NSC-125066; Vinblastine, VBL, NSC-49842. Arm I: Radiotherapy. Involved-field irradiation using megavoltage equipment. Arm II: No further therapy. PROJECTED ACCRUAL: 321 evaluable patients will be required; an annual accrual rate of 80 patients is anticipated.

Interventions

DRUGprednisone
DRUGprocarbazine hydrochloride
DRUGvinblastine sulfate
DRUGvincristine sulfate
RADIATIONlow-LET cobalt-60 gamma ray therapy
RADIATIONlow-LET photon therapy
RADIATIONradiation therapy
BIOLOGICALbleomycin sulfate
DRUGdoxorubicin hydrochloride

Sponsors

European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC
Lead SponsorNETWORK

Study design

Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Primary purpose
TREATMENT

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
ALL
Age
15 Years to 70 Years
Healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven clinical or pathological Stage III/IV Hodgkin's disease Pathological Stage IIIAS disease with the spleen as the only site of subdiaphragmatic involvement excluded PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 15 to 70 Performance status: Not specified Life expectancy: No severe limits on life expectancy due to nonmalignant disease Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Not specified Cardiovascular: No severe cardiac disease that would preclude protocol therapy Pulmonary: No severe pulmonary disease that would preclude protocol therapy Other: No severe metabolic or neurologic disease that would preclude protocol therapy No concomitant or previous second malignancy except: Nonmelanomatous skin cancer In situ carcinoma of the cervix PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: No prior therapy

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
Benefit of adjuvant involved field RT after entering complete remission with MOPP/ABV hybrid CT
Efficacy of MOPP/ABV hybrid CT

Secondary

MeasureTime frame
Relapse free survival
Overall survival

Countries

Belgium, Egypt, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia

Outcome results

None listed

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov · Data processed: Feb 4, 2026