Skip to content

A multicenter retrospective cohort study on the efficacy and safety with teprotumumab versus intravenous glucocorticoid for thyroid eye disease

A multicenter retrospective cohort study on the efficacy and safety with teprotumumab versus intravenous glucocorticoid for thyroid eye disease - A multicenter retrospective study of thyroid eye disease treated with teprotumumab versus glucocorticoid

Status
Active, not recruiting
Phases
Unknown
Study type
Observational
Source
JPRN
Registry ID
JPRN-UMIN000061392
Enrollment
500
Registered
2026-06-01
Start date
2026-05-01
Completion date
Unknown
Last updated
2026-06-29

For informational purposes only — not medical advice. Sourced from public registries and may not reflect the latest updates. Terms

Conditions

Thyroid eye disease

Interventions

None listed

Sponsors

Nagasaki University Hospital
Lead Sponsor

Eligibility

Sex/Gender
All

Inclusion criteria

Inclusion criteria: 1. Patients diagnosed with moderate to severe active TED based on the "Diagnostic Criteria and Treatment Guidelines for Thyroid Eye Disease 2023" (hereinafter referred to as the TED Treatment Guidelines) formulated by the Japan Thyroid Association and the Japan Endocrine Society, who have received tepromumab treatment or steroid pulse therapy, and who have been receiving treatment for at least 24 weeks since the start of treatment. 2. Patients who started treatment for TED between January 1, 2023 and March 31, 2026. 3. Patients who have undergone orbital MRI within 8 weeks prior to the start of treatment for active TED, and 12 weeks (8 weeks to 156 days) after the start of treatment, or/and 24 weeks (16 weeks to 31 weeks 6 days) after the start of treatment, or/and 48 weeks (32 weeks to 64 weeks). 4. Age: Must be an adult (18 years or older) at the start of TED treatment. 5. Sex: Not specified. 6. Inpatient/Outpatient: Not specified. 7. Nationality: Both parents must be Japanese citizens born in Japan, and the patient must be a Japanese citizen.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion criteria: 1. Patients with a history of external beam radiation therapy for TED, eyelid surgery, orbital decompression surgery, or strabismus surgery at baseline (start of TED treatment) 2. Patients with a history of local steroid injection into the eyelids or orbit within the past 8 weeks from baseline 3. Patients with a history of local botulinum toxin injection into the eyelids or extraocular muscles within the past 12 weeks from baseline 4. Patients with a history of high-dose steroid use (cumulative prednisolone equivalent > 1.5g) within the past 12 weeks from baseline, or steroid use (cumulative prednisolone equivalent > 0.5g) within the past 8 weeks 5. Patients with a history of rituximab, tocilizumab, satralizumab, batoclimab, fgaltigimod, or K1-70 administration during the data extraction period and prior to baseline 6. Patients currently participating in or who have participated in a teprotumumab clinical trial 7. Pregnant or lactating women at baseline or during the data extraction period 8. Patients with diseases involving abnormal IGF-1 secretion or action, such as growth hormone deficiency or acromegaly. 9. Patients who have expressed their refusal to participate in this study. 10. Other patients deemed unsuitable as research subjects by the principal investigator or staff member.

Design outcomes

Primary

MeasureTime frame
The changes in exophthalmometry values evaluating using orbital MRI from baseline to 24 weeks after the treatment

Countries

Japan

Contacts

Public ContactIchiro Horie

Nagasaki University Hospital Endocrinology and Metabolism

horie@nagasaki-u.ac.jp0958197262

Outcome results

None listed

Source: JPRN (via WHO ICTRP) · Data processed: Jul 3, 2026